Sarah Smith - President
About Truhaven Ranch
Executive Director and Founder, Candy Phillips, has had a passion for horses as long as she can remember. She saved pennies to buy her first pony at age 4½ and began training ponies for her uncle at age 10. She has spent hours amidst horses learning about their behavior and psychology. A competitive, open minded rider with a thirst for knowledge, Candy has pursued and excelled in many venues including 4-H, barrel racing,endurance racing/competitive trail riding, eventing, jumping, carriage driving, trail and all areas of pleasure showing. 

Candy has an Accounting degree plus many years of experience in Events Planning.

Her primary focus is on educating both humans and equines. 
 Sarah Smith has been affiliated with Truhaven Ranch since 2009 and originally came to our facility as a client in 2007. She is the Community Development Director for the City of Mound and has served on several boards including the Waverly Planning Commission, the Wright County Economic Development Partnership and the Watertown Chamber of Commerce. Sarah volunteers many hours at Truhaven and has been riding for over 20 years and uses her experiences to help new riders and handlers get comfortable with their horses. She also enjoys working with our equine rescues and youth program. Sarah also volunteers at Freedom Farm, a therapeutic riding center located in rural Waverly, MN, and was selected as its Horse Handler of the Year in 2011.
Committed to Educating Equines and Humans, 4 Hooves and 2 Heels at a Time.
Melissa Norton - Vet Tech 

Candy Phillips 
Executive Director
Melissa Norton has a 4 year Veterinarian Technician degree plus a lifetime of riding experience. Melissa uses her calm, reassuring demeanor to gain the trust of  abused rescue equines,  getting them started on their way to becoming useful animals. Employed at Animals, Inc. in Maple Lake.

​Executive Director
Candy Phillips
23677 Cable Ave
Winsted, MN 55395

Sarah Smith
4889 Iten Ave.
Howard Lake, MN 55349

Ellen Geiser
Elayna Bronson
Jim Jacobson
Nancy Shamla
Vickie Swanson
Melissa Norton